Unorthodox Carrots

IMG_0483

I have bad luck growing carrots the “normal” way: direct seeding into the garden. The tender little sprouts are a tasty treat for critters (slugs, I suspect). Lots of carrot seeds germinate and sprout in my garden, but disappear after about a day or two. So I’m trying to start them in seed-starters first to see how it goes. Maybe if they get a bit bigger before doing battle with the critters, they’ll make it. Then again, maybe conventional wisdom will be right – my carrot seedlings may hate being transplanted. We’ll see . . . I’ll post an update when I know more.

Leave a Reply

